Children

Penshurst Anglican Church - Sunday School:

 

Our Sunday School program runs during the 10:30am services during school term.

There are four classes available, based roughly on a child’s age:

Groups

Preschool

Kindergarten

Primary

Year 6 +

Coordinators

Tiny Tse

Naomi Zrno

Andrew Ung

John Oakes

PAC Youth Group COMPACT Youth

High school students are welcome to join COMPACT Youth, the PAC Youth Group, which meets at church on every Friday at 7:30pm - 9:30pm during term time.

2020 NSW term and vacation dates
  • Term 1 (Eastern division) – Tuesday 28 January to Thursday 9 April

  • Autumn vacation – Monday 13 April to Friday 24 April

  • Term 2 – Monday 27 April to Friday 3 July

  • Winter vacation – Monday 6 July to Friday 17 July

  • Term 3 – Monday 20 July to Friday 25 September

  • Spring vacation – Monday 28 September to Friday 9 October

  • Term 4 – Monday 12 October to Friday 18 December

  • Summer vacation (Eastern division) – Monday 21 December to Tuesday 26 January 2021

Our Montessori-based Sunday School program, Godly Play, caters for children aged 3 years to Year 6. Children in Years 7 to 9 attend our traditional Sunday School program.

What is Godly Play?

 

We are introducing a new and very different way of teaching Sunday School. In most religious education, children are taught what God did. In Godly Play, children discover who God is.

 

Godly Play is based on a Montessori understanding of a child and their spirituality. It seeks to give children experiences of God, and words to describe their experience.

A typical lesson has three parts:

  • Creating a quiet, focused sacred space, and telling a Bible story. Children sit in a circle on the floor and the storyteller uses beautiful images and objects to tell the story. A time of wondering follows the story, where children learn to think deep thoughts in a safe and welcoming space.

  • Children respond individually to the story in any way they like, typically with art materials or the objects from the story. Their response is their communication with God.

  • Sharing a feast – simple food, and a time of sharing their week, finishing in prayer around the circle.

After Sunday School, you might like to ask your child: “What did you like best about today’s story?”

Parents are involved in the classroom either as story tellers or door persons, equally important jobs.

Many of our teachers have attended intensive training, and we have an ongoing program of development for all story tellers and door persons.

Anyone who would like to observe a class is very welcome – please see Merilyn or Naomi to arrange a suitable Sunday.

If you would like to know more, please see any of the Sunday School teachers.

2 Carrington Street Penshurst NSW 2222 | Phone: +61 2 9580 1217

©2020 Penshurst Anglican Church. All rights reserved.