洗禮 / 嬰兒命名禮

洗禮還是嬰兒命名禮?

如果您想讓自己或孩子在Penshurst聖公會教堂接受洗禮或嬰兒命名禮,請考慮以下內容。圍繞著嬰兒命名禮和洗禮這兩個詞,多年來一直有很多困惑。為您澄清這些術語很重要,這樣您就可以確定想要我们提供什麼樣的服務。

洗禮

就像洗禮這個詞所暗示的那樣,該儀式涉及用水禮。最重要的是,這是教會的聖禮。就是說,耶穌命令只對真正渴望成為他門徒的人施行。門徒则是想完全融入當地教會生活和團契的人,承擔著會員的責任和利益。 (耶穌對他的門徒說,去做萬國的門徒,奉父,子,聖靈的名給他們施洗,並服從我所吩咐的一切。)儿童可以根據其父母的教會成員身份進行洗禮。


因此,它僅對決志的基督徒和他們的孩子施行,以公開證明他們對基督的承諾和加入教會。實際上,水被用來象徵一個人願意為自己的生命而死,並願意作為基督復活的社區(教會)的一員,渴望由聖靈改變(見羅馬書6:3-14)。


要求:洗禮有兩種形式,一種是成年人,另一種是兒童。要求因形式而異。

成人的洗禮:成人的洗禮是悔改和歸信基督的標誌,表示願意成为門徒。只有成年人對當地教會社區表現出真誠的承諾並成為其正式會員後,該仪式才有效。

嬰兒洗禮:只有父母明确是基督徒,並且是當地教會的正式成員,才對孩子進行洗禮。

地點:由於上述原因,當地教堂始終是受洗的首選地點。另一種選擇是整個教堂可以参与的地方(游泳池,海灘等)。因为洗禮只有在聚集的教會團體背景下才有意義。

儀式:我們一贯根据《澳大利亞公禱書》(第二式)建立洗禮服務。這使父母或成年洗禮候選人有機會公開承認他們對基督的信仰,也有機會讓當地的教會會眾作出公開回應。

嬰兒命名禮

顧名思義,嬰兒命名禮是一項特殊的服務,我們以此慶祝孩子的出生並將他/她奉獻給基督。在過去,這也是孩子的基督徒名字被宣布的時候。重點主要放在為孩子和父母祈禱。

作為PAC的主任牧師,我想復興這一古老的儀式並將其在我們的教堂中归属應有的地位。我希望所有對基督教發表信仰聲明但出於個人原因不願加入我們當地教會的人都可以參加这个儀式。換句話說,我想為每個人提供一個機會,讓他們被上帝在基督裡的愛所擁抱,得到鼓勵,以加深對這種愛的了解,而又沒有加入我們教會的壓力。

要求:父母應該自己是信徒,或者至少應該積極地信仰基督教。他們應該準備對孩子的基督教成長做出承諾。教父教母是儀式的重要組成部分,至少應該對上帝有一些基本的信仰。

地點:嬰兒命名禮儀式可以在任何地方舉行,重點是家人和朋友的聚會。

​儀式:儀式的主要方包括:
* 閱讀和解釋一段簡短但有意義的經文,
* 表達父母對孩子的夢想(為什麼選擇孩子的名字等),
* 一個簡單的儀式,用膏抹的方式為孩子塗油,並
* 為孩子,父母和教父母祈禱。

結論

我希望這些解釋使您能夠更輕鬆地決定對孩子和自己的真正需求。
如果您需要更多信息,或者想與我們討論為自己或您的孩子安排洗禮或命名禮,請隨時與PAC聯繫(通過電話或在線)。


巴特
主任牧師

2 Carrington Street Penshurst NSW 2222 | Phone: +61 2 9580 1217

©2020 Penshurst Anglican Church. All rights reserved.

Baptism / Christening

Baptism or Christening?

If you are thinking about having yourself or your child Christened or Baptised at Penshurst Anglican Church, please consider the following. There has been a lot of confusion over the years surrounding these two terms Christening and Baptism. It’s important that these terms be clarified for you so that you can be sure in your own minds as to what sort of service you want for yourself or your child.

Baptism

As the word Baptism implies, this ceremony involves the use of water. Most importantly, it is a sacrament of the church. That is, it was commanded by Jesus to be administered only to those who truly desire to become His disciples. A disciple is a person who wants to fully integrate into the life and fellowship of the local church, taking on all the responsibilities and benefits of membership. (Jesus said to His disciples, Go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.) A child is included in baptism on the basis of the parents’ commitment to church membership.


It is, therefore, administered only to committed Christian believers and their children as a public testimony to their commitment to Christ and membership in His church. In fact, water is used to symbolise a person’s willingness to die to themselves and live as a member of Christ’s resurrected community, the church, in an earnest desire to be transformed by His Spirit (see Romans 6:3-14).


Requirements: there are two forms of baptism, one for adults and another for children. The requirements differ according to the form.


Adult baptism: the baptism of an adult is the sign of that person’s repentance and conversion to Christ, and willingness to engage in the on-going process of becoming His disciple. It is only valid if the adult displays a sincere commitment to, and regular membership of, the local church community.


Infant baptism: the baptism of a child is only done when it is obvious that the parents are committed Christian believers and are regular members of the local church.


Venue: for the above reasons, the local church is always the preferred place for baptism. Another option is a place where the entire church can be present (swimming pool, beach, etc.). Indeed, baptism only makes sense in the context of the gathered church community.


Ceremony: we always build the baptism service around the structures given to us in An Australian Prayer Book (second form). This gives the parents or adult baptism candidate an opportunity to make public confessions of their faith in Christ as well as an opportunity for the local church congregation to make public responses.

Christening

A christening, as the word suggests, is a special service whereby we celebrate the child’s life and dedicate him/her to Christ. In the old days, it was also the time when the child’s Christian name would be announced. The focus is chiefly on prayers for the child and the parents.


As the senior pastor at PAC, I would like to revive this ancient ritual and give it its due place in our church. I hope that this service of Christening can be open to all people who wish to make some statement of faith in the Christian God but who, for personal reasons, may wish to remain un-committed to membership in our local church. In other words, I want to offer everyone an opportunity to be embraced by the love of God in Christ, to be encouraged in a greater understanding of that love, yet without the pressure to join our church community.


Requirements: parents should be believers themselves or at least positively inclined towards the Christian faith. They should be prepared to make promises concerning the child’s Christian upbringing. Godparents are an important part of the ceremony and should have, at the very least, some elemental faith in God.


Venue: a Christening can be held anywhere, with a focus on the gathering of family and friends.


Ceremony: the main aspects of the ceremony include:
* the reading and explanation of a short but meaningful passage of the Scriptures,
* an expression of the dreams of the parents for their child (why they chose the child’s name, etc.),
* a simple ceremony of anointing the child with oil as an act of dedication, and
* a time of prayer for child, parents and godparents.

Conclusion

I hope these explanations make it easier for you to decide for yourself what it is you really desire for your child and for yourself.
Please feel free to contact PAC (by phone, or online) if you need any more information, or would like to talk to us about arranging a christening or baptism, for yourself or your child.

Bart
Senior Pastor

2 Carrington Street Penshurst NSW 2222 | Phone: +61 2 9580 1217

©2020 Penshurst Anglican Church. All rights reserved.